RUNOFF ELECTION: Today's votes to decide San Antonio mayor, most city council seats

    On Saturday, San Antonio voters will decide who leads city hall for the next two years. The mayor and six city council members will be elected during the June 10 runoff.


    Who’s on the ballot?

    • Mayor: Ivy Taylor (incumbent), Ron Nirenberg (challenger / District 8 councilman)
    • District 1: Roberto Treviño (incumbent), Michael Montaño
    • District 2: Alan Warrick (incumbent), Cruz Shaw
    • District 6: Melissa Havrda, Greg Brockhouse
    • District 8: Cynthia Brehm, Manny Pelaez
    • District 9: John Courage, Marco Barros
    • District 10: Clayton Perry, Ezra Johnson

    The mayoral race will be on everyone's ballot. You can see whether a city council race will be on your ballot by providing your address here on the Bexar County Elections Department website.

    I don’t know anything about the candidates. What should I do?

    Study up. You can watch the mayoral forum we hosted in February at this link. (Note: Bexar County Democratic Chair Manuel Medina was eliminated during the May 6 election and will not appear on the June 10 ballot.) Texas Public Radio also hosted a mayoral forum in April that you can watch here.

    The District 2 race made headlines a few times in recent months. Warrick, seen on video sleeping on a bench outside city hall in late May, initially said he’d been drugged at a local bar. The next day, he retracted the story and apologized, saying he probably just had too much to drink. There was also that strange he-said-she-said over a $15,000 endorsement deal.

    Texas Public Radio’s “The Source” featured extended conversations with the candidates that are posted online: District 1, District 2, District 6, District 8, District 9 and District 10.

    You can also look up candidates’ websites online.

    Where do I vote?

    You can type in your address and find your polling location here on the Bexar County Elections Department website.

    Am I even registered to vote?

    You can verify your registration at this link.

    When’s the election?

    Saturday, June 10 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

    I live in District 3, 4, 5 or 7. Why can't I vote for city council?

    Four candidates won during the May 6 election with more than 50 percent of the vote and will soon begin their terms. Ana Sandoval upset District 7 councilman Cris Medina. Three council members won re-election: District 3’s Rebecca Viagran, District 4’s Rey Saldaña and District 5’s Shirley Gonzales. Full election results from May 6 are available here.

    I just voted May 6. Why am I voting again?

    If no candidate in one race won more than 50 percent of the vote, the top two finishers challenge each other in the June 10 runoff. The slate is now clean, and only the votes for the June 10 election will determine the winners.

    Who’s the Republican candidate, and who’s the Democrat for a particular race?

    San Antonio’s city elections are nonpartisan. Candidates are not identified by party on the ballot.

    Where's everybody? My polling place is empty.

    Turnout could be low, but that means you probably won’t have to wait for a voting booth. Just 60,535 San Antonians voted early for the June 10 election out of more than a million registered Bexar County voters.

    I have another question. Who can help?

    Check the Bexar County Elections Department website or call the department. The phone number is (210) 335-VOTE (8683).

    News In Photos

      Loading ...